This year, at Growing Futures: From Seed to Success, the 24th Annual Alameda County Teacher of the Year Awards ceremony, we honored 20 amazing teachers for cultivating academic excellence and nuturing students' potential for success in classrooms every day.

Victor Doan, a biology teacher at San Leandro High, and Regina Brinker, an engineering science teacher at Christensen Middle School in Livermore, won top honors and will advance to the statewide Teachers of the Year competition.

Press coverage of the 2013 Alameda County Teachers of the Year has included Regina Brinker in The Independent (Livermore); Victor Doan in San Leandro Patch and The Daily Review (Hayward); Tamara Friedman in Berkeley Patch and Berkeleyside; Corina Resendez-Rojo and Judy Cuturuffo in The Tri-City Voice; Miriam Clare LePell, Kimberly Booker, and Rick Santi in Castro Valley Patch; Corina-Resendez-Rojo in Newark Patch, and Christie Carnahan in Pleasanton Patch

View the Teacher of the Year Videos

The eighteen districts and two Regional Occupational Programs that submitted their “2013 Teacher of the Year” are (in order by district):


  • ACOE - Annie Green, Hayward Community School
  • Alameda USD - Tracy Corbally, Alameda Science and Technology Institute
  • Berkeley USD - Tamara Friedman, Berkeley High School
  • Castro Valley USD - Miriam Clare LePell, Castro Valley High School
  • Dublin USD - Keira Andresen, Dublin Elementary School
  • Eden Area ROP - Deborah Maynard, San Leandro High School
  • Emery USD - Dr. Carol Balfe, Anna Yates Elementary School
  • Fremont USD - Judy Cuturrufo, Oliveira Elementary School
  • Hayward USD - Kimberly Booker, Ochoa Middle School
  • Livermore Valley Joint USD - Regina Brinker, Christensen Middle School
  • Mission Valley ROP - Lehua Lee, Mission Valley ROP Center
  • Newark USD - Corina Resendez-Rojo, Bridgepoint High School
  • New Haven USD - Catherine Schoon, Pioneer Elementary School
  • Oakland USD - Jenny Clark, Oakland High School
  • Oakland USD - Zachary Pitt-Smith, Edna Brewer Middle School
  • Pleasanton USD - Christie Carnahan, Valley View Elementary School
  • San Leandro USD - Victor Doan, San Leandro High School
  • San Lorenzo USD - Rick Santi, Royal Sunset High School
  • Sunol Glen USD - Melody Mayer, Sunol Glen Elementary School
  • Tri-Valley ROP - Laurie Erceg, Granada High School 

View past Teacher of the Year videos, photos and media coverage:
2012 Teacher of the Year Awards
2011 Teacher of the Year Awards
2010 Teacher of the Year Awards