ACOE Authorized Charter Schools Policies & Procedures Manual 2021-2022

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
  • Material Revisions for Authorized Charter Schools

    Material revisions for authorized charter schools are governed by the charter school's Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) approved by the Alameda County Board of Education (ACBOE) and charter school. Each charter school's MOU outlines requirements for material revisions. Authorized charter schools shall refer to Section 23: Material Revisions to Charter of their MOU to determine the need for a material revision request.

    ​​​​At the charter school's request, the ACBOE may authorize material revisions to the original charter petition. Prior to submission to the ACBOE for determination, the Alameda County Office of Education (ACOE) staff receive and review the material revision submissions from ACBOE authorized charter schools. Charter schools should consult with ACOE staff regarding any proposed changes.

  • New Charter Petitions

    Dependent charter schools, independent charter schools, and countywide benefit charter schools may choose to submit a charter petition directly​​​ to the Alameda County Board of Education (ACBOE).  The links below offer charter school governing boards, administrators, staff, and the public a clear understanding of the process for submitting a new petition, including the requirements for submission and insight for the review process.

  • Charter Petition Appeals

    A charter school whose petition was previously denied by the governing board of a school district within Alameda County has the option to submit the petition for the establishment of a charter school to the Alameda County Board of Education (ACBOE) within 30 days of a denial by the governing board of the school district. The links below provide a guide to charters appealing to the ACBOE and provide the public with a clear understanding of the process for submitting a charter petition appeal to ACOE.

  • Charter Petition Renewals

    The links below provide charter schools authorized by the Alameda County Board of Education (ACBOE) guidance on submitting a renewal, along with providing the public a clear understanding of the pathways to charter renewal, the criteria needed to renew, and the process for submitting renewal petitions to the Alameda County Office of Education (ACOE).

  • Contact Charter Schools Staff

    Juwen Lam Juwen Lam
    Chief of Accountability Services
    (510) 670-4147
    juwenl@acoe.org
    scott figgins Scott Figgins, M.Ed.
    Acting Director I, District and School Support
    (510) 670-4245
    sfiggins@acoe.org
    natasha Natasha Cotar
    Program Director, Strategic School Support
    (510) 670-4583
    ncotar@acoe.org
    Anika Patterson Anika Patterson
    Program Director, School Portfolio Support
    (510) 670-4171
    apatterson@acoe.org
    Yosaira Yosaira Espinoza
    Program Manager, District & School Support
    (510) 670-4542
    yespinoza@acoe.org
    Shannon OBrien Shannon O'Brien
    Program Manager, Research & Evaluation
    (510) 670-4283
    sobrien@acoe.org
    Amanda Bennett Amanda Bennett
    Project Director, Data
    (510) 670-4560
    abennett@acoe.org
    Araceli Varela Araceli Varela
    Administrative Assistant
    (510) 670-4236
    avarela@acoe.org
    sierra falcon Sierra Falcon
    Administrative Assistant
    (510) 670-4557
    sfalcon@acoe.org