• Charter Schools

    A charter school is a public school that may provide instruction in grades kindergarten through 12, created and organized by community leaders or community-based organizations, a group of parents, or teachers. Charters can be authorized by a local school district board, county board of education, or the state board of education.

    Our department provides oversight and support to the ACOE authorized charter schools in addition to annual renewals and petition appeals.

    Click to view
    ACOE Approved Charter Schools in Alameda County

  • Contact Charter School Staff

    Juwen Lam Juwen Lam
    Chief of Accountability Services
    (510) 670-4147
    juwenl@acoe.org
    scott figgins Scott Figgins, M.Ed.
    Acting Director I, District and School Support
    (510) 670-4245
    sfiggins@acoe.org
    natasha Natasha Cotar
    Program Director, Strategic School Support
    (510) 670-4583
    ncotar@acoe.org
    Anika Patterson Anika Patterson
    Program Director, School Portfolio Support
    (510) 670-4171
    apatterson@acoe.org
    Yosaira Yosaira Espinoza
    Program Manager, District & School Support
    (510) 670-4542
    yespinoza@acoe.org
    Shannon OBrien Shannon O'Brien
    Program Manager, Research & Evaluation
    (510) 670-4283
    sobrien@acoe.org
    Amanda Bennett Amanda Bennett
    Project Director, Data
    (510) 670-4560
    abennett@acoe.org
    Araceli Varela Araceli Varela
    Administrative Assistant
    (510) 670-4236
    avarela@acoe.org
    sierra falcon Sierra Falcon
    Administrative Assistant
    (510) 670-4557
    sfalcon@acoe.org