• Social and Emotional Learning

     

    Social and Emotional Learning At a Glance

    The Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) Department helps to create positive, equitable, and welcoming learning environments for staff and students in Alameda County. We provide education and supportive services focused on serving the whole child.

    Our high-quality technical assistance for educators, staff, families, and other community partners promotes physical, mental, emotional, and social health so that students can feel safe and supported on their academic journey and in life.

    Our work is grounded on equity, diversity, and inclusion, and is aligned with ACOE’s mission: To provide, promote, and support leadership and service to ensure the success of every child, in every school, every day.


    Programs

    We are responsible for administering the California Department of Education-funded Tobacco-Use Prevention Education (TUPE) and the Region 4 System of Support for Expanded Learning (R4 SSEL) Programs, as well as the Alameda County Health Care Services Agency-funded Arts and Creativity/SEL Program at the REACH Ashland Youth Center. We are a Consortium member for the Bay Area American Indian Council/INCFA Entity Title VI Program serving students in San Leandro, San Lorenzo, and Hayward Unified School Districts.

    Social and emotional learning (SEL) is the process through which children and adults understand and manage emotions, set and achieve positive goals, feel and show empathy for others, establish and maintain positive relationships, and make responsible decisions, according to the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL).

    SEL During Distance Learning (CDE Resources)

    CASEL District Guide

    California’ SEL Guiding Principles

    SEL Resources (This is not an official endorsement, but a growing repository of accessible resources organized by grade span and SEL competencies):


    Services

    • Coaching
    • Mentoring
    • Consulting
    • Facilitation
    • SEL Resources
    • Arts and creativity
    • Professional development
    • Drug prevention education
    • Alternatives to suspension
    • Youth voice and leadership
    • Expanded learning resources
    • SEL curriculum and instruction
    • Systems-based approach to SEL
    • Family and community engagement
    • Restorative and social justice practices
    • Healing and trauma-informed practices
    • Growth, development, and sexual health
    • Peer education training and Youth Development

    Networks and Communities of Practice

Healing Through Engagement

  • Contact Social and Emotional Learning

    navdeep purewal Navdeep Purewal, Ed.D.
    Chief of Learning Services
    npurewal@acoe.org
    (510) 670-7793
    nora zamora Nora Zamora, Ed.D.
    Executive Director, SEL
    nzamora@acoe.org
    (510) 670-7770
    veronica duncan Veronica Valerio Duncan
    Director I, Community Schools
    vduncan@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4237
    cecilia apley   Cecilia Apley
    Program Director, Family and Community Engagement
    capley@acoe.org
    (510)-670-4185
    Shamia Sandles   Shamia Sandles
    Program Director,
    Expanded Learning and Enrichment Programs
    shamias@acoe.org
    510-670-4143
       
    natasha cotar Natasha Cotar
    Program Director, Collaborative Leadership
    ncotar@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4583
    scott gerbert  

    Scott Gerbert
    Director I, TUPE
    sgerbert@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4524  

    kristy packer  

    Kristy Packer
    Project Director, Peer Education and Positive Youth Development
    kpacker@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4580

    zar saporito

    Zar Saporito
    Project Manager, Peer Education and Positive Youth Development
    zsaporito@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4526  

    wini mcmichael Jennifer (Wini) McMichael
    Program Director,
    Social & Emotional Learning
    jmcmichael@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4540  
    debbie jelincic  

    Debbie Jelincic
    Program Manager I, Health & Wellness
    debbiej@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4156  

    Akilah Bird   Akilah Byrd, M.Ed.
    Director I, Region 4 Expanded Learning Programs
    abyrd@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4139  
    Joaquin Newman Joaquin Newman
    Project Manager I, REACH Arts & Creativity/SEL
    jnewman@acoe.org
    (510) 481-4519  
    Jerarde Gutierrez

    Jerarde Gutierrez
    Project Manager I, REACH Arts & Creativity/SEL
    jgutierrez@acoe.org
    (510) 481-4519  

    Freddie Hendrix

    Freddie Hendrix
    Administrative Assistant
    fhendrix@acoe.org
    (510) 670-4175  

    janice medel Janice Medel
    Administrative Assistant
    jmedel@acoe.org
    (510) 670-7710